MINUTES of the WAVERLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, The Burys, Godalming on 24 May 2016 at 8.06 pm

- \* Cllr Chris Storey (Mayor)\* Cllr Simon Inchbald (Deputy Mayor)
- \* Cllr Mike Band Cllr Paddy Blagden
- \* Cllr Andrew Bolton
- \* Cllr Maurice Byham
- \* Cllr Carole Cockburn
- \* Cllr Kevin Deanus
- \* Cllr Jim Edwards
- \* Cllr Brian Ellis
- \* Cllr Patricia Ellis
- \* Cllr David Else
- \* Cllr Jenny Else
- \* Cllr Mary Foryszewski Cllr John Fraser Cllr Pat Frost
- \* Cllr Michael Goodridge
- \* Cllr Tony Gordon-Smith
- \* Cllr John Gray
- \* Cllr Ged Hall Cllr Jill Hargreaves
  - Cllr Val Henry
- \* Cllr Christiaan Hesse
- \* Cllr Stephen Hill
- \* Cllr Mike Hodge
  - Cllr Nicholas Holder
- \* Cllr David Hunter
- \* Cllr Appa James
- \* Cllr Anna James

- \* Cllr Carole King
  Cllr Robert Knowles
- \* Cllr Martin Lear Cllr Denise Le Gal Cllr Denis Leigh
- \* Cllr Andy MacLeod Cllr Peter Martin
- \* Cllr Tom Martin
- \* Cllr Kika Mirylees
- \* Cllr Stephen Mulliner
- \* Cllr David Munro
- \* Cllr Nabeel Nasir Cllr Libby Piper
- \* Cllr Julia Potts
- \* Cllr Sam Pritchard
- \* Cllr Wyatt Ramsdale Cllr Stefan Reynolds
- \* Cllr David Round
- \* Cllr Richard Seaborne Cllr Jeanette Stennett Cllr Stewart Stennett
- \* Cllr Simon Thornton Cllr Bob Upton
- \* Cllr Ross Welland
- \* Cllr Liz Wheatley
- \* Cllr Nick Williams
- \* Cllr John Williamson

#### \*Present

## **Apologies**

Cllr Paddy Blagden, Cllr John Fraser, Cllr Pat Frost, Cllr Jill Hargreaves, Cllr Val Henry, Cllr Nicholas Holder, Cllr Robert Knowles, Cllr Denise Le Gal, Cllr Denis Leigh, Cllr Peter Martin, Cllr Stefan Reynolds, Cllr Jeanette Stennett and Cllr Stewart Stennett

# 12/16 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Agenda item 1.)

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Brian Adams, Paddy Blagden, John Fraser, Pat Frost, Jill Hargreaves, Val Henry, Nicholas Holder, Robert Knowles, Denise Le Gal, Denis Leigh, Stefan Reynolds, Jeanette Stennett and Stewart Stennett.

# 13/16 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u> (Agenda item 2.)

As per the Special Executive meeting held earlier in the evening, Cllr Julia Potts declared a non-pecuniary interest in the report as a member of Farnham Town Council.

As Deputy Leader of Surrey County Council and as the Deputy Chairman of its Investment Board, Cllr Peter Martin had declared a non-pecuniary interest regarding the Brightwells Regeneration Development but due to his close involvement and this conflict of interest, considered that it was appropriate for him to withdraw from the whole meeting and was not therefore in attendance.

## 14/16 MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL EXECUTIVE - 24 MAY 2016 (Agenda item 3.)

The minutes of the Special meeting of the Executive held earlier in the evening had been tabled and were moved by the Chairman of the Executive and duly seconded. All members of the Council had received the full officer report relating to the Brightwells, Farnham Regeneration Scheme presented to the Executive, in advance of the meeting. The minutes were moved by the Chairman of the Executive and duly seconded.

On moving to the recommendations, it was proposed, and supported by five further councillors, that a recorded vote be taken for Recommendations 1-9 as set out in the report. The voting was as follows:-

# <u>For</u> (38)

Cllr Mike Band, Cllr Andrew Bolton, Cllr Maurice Byham, Cllr Carole Cockburn, Cllr Kevin Deanus, Cllr Jim Edwards, Cllr Brian Ellis, Cllr Patricia Ellis, Cllr David Else, Cllr Jenny Else, Cllr Mary Foryszewski, Cllr Michael Goodridge, Cllr Tony Gordon-Smith, Cllr John Gray, Cllr Ged Hall, Cllr Christiaan Hesse, Cllr Stephen Hill, Cllr Mike Hodge, Cllr David Hunter, Cllr Simon Inchbald, Cllr Peter Isherwood, Cllr Anna James, Cllr Carole King, Cllr Martin Lear, Cllr Tom Martin, Cllr Stephen Mulliner, Cllr David Munro, Cllr Nabeel Nasir, Cllr Julia Potts, Cllr Sam Pritchard, Cllr Wyatt Ramsdale, Cllr David Round, Cllr Richard Seaborne, Cllr Chris Storey, Cllr Simon Thornton, Cllr Ross Welland, Cllr Liz Wheatley, Cllr Nick Williams.

#### Against (3)

Cllr Andy MacLeod, Cllr Kika Mirylees and Cllr John Williamson.

There were no abstentions.

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the Special Executive meeting held on 24 May be approved and the recommendations contained therein adopted.

The meeting concluded at 9.03 pm